Romeo and Juliet, Paperback
4 out of 5 (6 ratings)


No Fear Shakespeare gives you the complete text of"Romeo and Juliet"on the left-hand page, side-by-side with an easy-to-understand translation on the right.Each No Fear Shakespeare contains

  • The complete text of the original play
  • A line-by-line translation that puts Shakespeare into everyday language
  • A complete list of characters with descriptions
  • Plenty of helpful commentary
  • "


    • Format: Paperback
    • Pages: 287 pages
    • Publisher: Spark Notes
    • Publication Date:
    • Category: Shakespeare plays
    • ISBN: 9781586638450



    Free Home Delivery

    on all orders

    Pick up orders

    from local bookshops


    Showing 1 - 5 of 6 reviews.

      Previous  |  Next

    Review by

    The best side-by-side version of the play I've found. I recommend it to all of my students when we read the play during the school year.

    Review by

    Its a sweet book and very romantic. You dont want to put it down right aways. You just want to keep reading it to understand it.

    Review by

    I'm all for this series, not just for students. For anyone who wants to get into Shakespeare, it's great to have some help and not miss anything that is going on. I recommend reading Shakespeare's language first and then (when needed) the explanation (given side by side for every page). After a while you get used to the original language and you don't need the explanations as often. You'll feel comfortable enough with archaic words and phrases. For me Romeo and Juliet is at least as much a comedy as it is a tragedy. For the silly aspects of love - intoxication, unstable emotions, overly dramatic responses - R and J are a celebration and a parody.

    Review by

    boring, couldn't understand it

    Review by

    "Some shall be pardoned, and some punished.<br/>For never was a story of more woe<br/>Than this of Juliet and her Romeo."

      Previous  |  Next

    Also by William Shakespeare   |  View all

    Also in the No Fear Shakespeare series   |  View all