I Am Number Four, Paperback book

I Am Number Four[Paperback]

by Pittacus Lore

3.65 out of 5 (124 ratings)

Format:
Paperback 
Pages:
400 
Publisher:
Penguin Books Ltd 
Publication Date:
03 February 2011 
Category:
Thriller and Suspense 
ISBN:
9780141047843 

Description

They killed Number One in Malaysia. Number Two in England. And Number Three in Kenya. John Smith is not your average teenager. He regularly moves from small town to small town. He changes his name and identity. He does not put down roots. He cannot tell anyone who or what he really is. If he stops moving those who hunt him will find and kill him. But you can't run forever. So when he stops in Paradise, Ohio, John decides to try and settle down. To fit in. And for the first time he makes some real friends. People he cares about - and who care about him. Never in John's short life has there been space for friendship, or even love. But it's just a matter of time before John's secret is revealed. He was once one of nine. Three of them have been killed. John is Number Four. He knows that he is next...Praise for Pittacus Lore: "Tense, exciting, full of energy". ("Observer"). "Relentlessly readable". ("The Times"). "Set to eclipse Harry Potter and moody vampires. Pittacus Lore is about to become one of the hottest names on the planet". ("Big Issue"). "Tense, keeps you wondering". ("Sunday Times"). Perfect for fans of "The Hunger Games" - "I Am Number Four" is the first book in Pittacus Lore's "Lorien Legacies" series and is now a major "Disney" film. Pittacus Lore is Lorien's ruling elder. He has been on Earth for the last twelve years preparing for the war that will decide Earth's fate. His whereabouts are unknown.

Showing 1-4 out of 133 reviews. Previous | Next

  • I found out about I Am Number Four awhile back, but for some reason I just didn't pick it up. Then the commercials for the movie started to show up on television - from them I got an idea of what the story really was. And because I was totally into the idea, I went and bought the book. I was so not disappointed.First off, I really enjoyed the idea of a secret alien race living among us. It's just one of those conspiracies that I'm totally (secretly) into. The whole myth of the other planets, and the race of the Loriens totally intrigued me. I really loved the idea of another living planet similar to ours. The fun part was that they are basically humans, but some of them have superpowers - or what they call legacies. Second, the novel takes place in Ohio. Books never take place in Ohio for a few specific reasons that this one did: it's boring, lots of fields (rural), and it's boring. But I was excited cause I was able to recognize some places, which was cool. So right off the bat I'm already loving the plot, the setting, and as you will see, I really loved the characters as well. If you want to stop reading now, just know I whole heartily recommend this book - if you want to know more on my evaluation of the characters, read on.So, John Smith (or Number Four, if your prefer). I love him. I found him very interesting, though when I look back I think he's very mature for how old he's supposed to be. Then again, due to the type of life he has to lead, I guess it makes sense. John has never actually had a real friend before - he's basically always on the run, never staying anywhere too long - until he moved to Paradise, Ohio. He finds himself attached to people, other than his guardian Henri, for the first time ever, and he loves it (I'll talk about them in a moment). I just found him very real, and this novel is, in a sense, a coming of age story - alien style.Before I talk about John's friends I just want to mention how much I absolutely adore Henri. He's that father/mentor/guardian figure that you always see in these types of novels. He helps John develop his legacies, and keeps him alive. The bond between Henri and John felt very real to me - I loved it. Every scene that had them interact was fantastic for me. For some reason I always end up having lots of love for the mentor figure (as long as they don't turn out evil - how much does that suck when that happens?).Now for Sam and Sarah. I don't know how many times I should use "adorable" in a review, but Sam is adorable. I always love the nerds and, boy, is he a nerd or what? He's obsessed with alien conspiracy theories, ever since his dad went to the store and never came back. So obviously John is interested in him, especially after noticing an article that mentioned his planet. Then there was Sarah. The love interest. Surprisingly enough I'm not a huge fan of Sarah - she actually bothers me due to the fact that she's not as strong as I'd expected her to be. She relies on John a lot more than I'd like for a lead female role. So, did I like John and Sarah together? Sure, because he finally was able to love someone. Did I like Sarah as a whole? No. Too passive for me.In the end, I really loved this novel, and I sincerely support picking up this book to read in the very near future. I'm interested in how the movie will turn out - it already looks like there's going to be major changes, which as of right now I'm technically okay with them. But we shall see.

    5.00 out of 5

    xtastethesky

  • The cover of this book does not do it justice. This was a fantastic read and I couldn't put it down. This is a must read. Can't wait to read the next in the series.

    5.00 out of 5

    MrsBakitch

  • Wow.This book was amazing! Have to admit that when I first heard of it, thought it sounded interesting, but it wasn't on my "must get" list at BEA. Then I started seeing people walking around the Expo wearing t-shirts. And I started to hear people talking about what an amazing book it was and that the ARCs were going fast. That got my attention, so next time I passed by the publisher's booth, I asked about it. They didn't have any copies, but suggested I swing by later. Took me several more visits before I finally snagged a copy, and I'm so glad I did! For having no real expectations of this book, it blew me away! Gave it a 5/5 rating because it sucked me in and I could not put it down! Stayed up much too late to finish reading it, despite having to get up early the next morning. I can't put my finger on what I loved most about this book or why I couldn't put it down, but there was just something about the story that really grabbed me.I really liked learning about the Loriens and their world. There is a subtle environmental message in that the bad guys destroyed their world and are now travelling the galaxy, stripping other worlds of all of their resources. But the message wasn't preachy or in-your-face, which I really appreciated. Liked Number Four, and could sympathize with his desire to just be a normal boy and stop running, even though that was impossible. It must be hard to constantly be the outsider, and I understand his desire to make friends and stay put. Too bad he's an alien with bad guys on his tail, trying to kill him.The book was well written, action packed, with interesting characters. Looking forward to seeing where the author takes this series, as it rocks!

    5.00 out of 5

    alexia561

  • Pittacus Lore was one of the elders of the now-dead planet Lorian, conquered by another race and stripped of its natural resources. In this book, he tells how nine children with their guardians were sent to Earth in a last-ditch effort to save both their race and Earth, which is the Mogadorians next target. Of the nine, he is number four - the first three have already been killed.

    5.00 out of 5

    pmlyayakkers

Reviews provided by Librarything.

Also by Pittacus Lore

Facebook comments

Free delivery on all orders at hive