The Chill Of Night, Paperback book

The Chill Of Night[Paperback]

3.67 out of 5 (3 ratings)

Format:
Paperback 
Pages:
432 
Publisher:
Penguin Books Ltd 
Publication Date:
29 March 2012 
Category:
Thriller and Suspense 
ISBN:
9780141047300 

Description

The "Chill of Night" is James Hayman's second instalment in his McCabe and Savage series. A frozen corpse means a big headache for Detective Michael McCabe Lainie Goff thinks she has it all. A glamorous young Portland attorney with the brains and looks to match her ambitions, she's on the fast-track to a partnership. Until one cold winter night she discovers that her belief in her ability to handle any situation was misplaced. Now she's just a frozen corpse in the boot of a car at the end of Portland Fish Pier. And a problem for homicide detective Michael McCabe. Luckily for McCabe, there's a witness. A mentally disturbed young woman named Abby Quinn saw what happened to Lainie. Unfortunately, Abby mysteriously goes missing the very same night. With a victim who'd known more than her share of bad guys, a list of suspects that seems to get longer and longer and his only witness missing, McCabe has got his work cut out. But it's only a matter of time before the killer strikes again...Following the success of the first instalment "The Cutting", "The Chill of Night" continues to follow Detective McCabe as he solves Portland's crimes. Fans of Harlan Coben and Michael Connelly will be hooked. Praise for James Hayman: "A stunning debut that gripped me from first page to last. A thriller of a thriller!". (Tess Gerritsen). "Supremely accomplished storytelling". ("Daily Mail"). "Taut, suspenseful...every bit as dark and sinister as Lehane and Connelly". (Richard Montanari). James Hayman spent more than twenty years as a senior creative director at one of New York's largest advertising agencies. He and his wife now live in Portland, Maine. This is his third novel.

Showing 1-3 out of 3 reviews.

  • Author James Hayman delivers another riveting tale of suspense and thrills with Detective McCabe leading the way. With twists and turns right up to the book's end, the reader is kept on their toes...constantly trying to figure out who's behind the murders and what has become of the psychologically challenged witness. Though his tales are not for younger readers (the crimes commited and several sexual references), the adult sect will certainly enjoy his most recent escapade. Recommended reading for fans of the crime fiction genre as well as those mystery fans that like a bit of a thriller mixed in....happy reading!

    4.00 out of 5

    GRgenius

  • From My Blog....James Hayman’s delightful character Detective Michael McCabe is back in Hayman’s newest novel, The Chill of Night. Readers first met Detective Michael McCabe in The Cutting and while it is not necessary to read the books in order, I believe the reader will want to after reading The Chill of Night. A woman’s body is discovered frozen in her truck, the dead woman turns out to have been a high-powered attorney with a lot of secrets and even more enemies. To further confuse the investigation, the only witness is Abby, a schizophrenic whose life may very well be in grave danger. While McCabe finds himself struggling with not only the case of Goff and who murdered her, but also with his inner demons as Goff eerily resembles his ex-wife. Hayman once again takes the readers into a complicated web, masterfully woven and delightful to read through. As before, Hayman’s characters are realistic and as with Detective McCabe, flawed, making them all the more realistic. The Chill of Night will keep the reader up long into the night, as this is one book that the reader will not want to put down. I highly recommend The Chill of Night to anyone looking for an extremely well written suspense novel.

    4.00 out of 5

    knittingmomof3

  • The Chill Of Night by James HaymanPublished by St. Martin's PressISBN 978-0-312-53271-0At the request of Pump Up Your Book, a HC was sent, at no cost to me, for my honest review. Synopsis (borrowed from book's jacket): Beautiful, Brilliant, and ambitious, Lainie Goff has overcome a nightmarish past to achieve remarkable success as a young attorney on the fast track to a partnership at one of the more respected law firms in New England. Then one cold night, the secrets of her past come hurtling back when she's found stabbed to death, her frozen body discovered in the trunk of her own car abandoned at the end of the Portland Fish Pier. The only witness to the crime is a mentally ill young woman named Abby Quinn, who tries desperately to tell police what she has seen. Because of Abby's illness no one in the department believes what she says. Until she, too, disappears. As Portland homicide detective Michael McCabe begins his investigation he learns there may be more to Goff than meets the eye. Not only had she been having an affair with a partner of her firm, she had also been creating enemies closer to home. Struck by a remarkable resemblance between Goff and his own ex-wife, McCabe is forced to grapple with memories of his failed marriage as he races to fine Lainie's killer before Abby Quinn is slain. My Thoughts and Opinion: I now have read both books written by this author where Michael McCabe is the main character, but both books can stand on its own. I read this book during a very bad reading slump but was able to pick it up and continue reading without having to reread past chapters. The author introduces characters, which could have the motives and/or a history to have killed Lainie Goff. And the story fluctuates between these characters. I was able to figure out "who did it" through omissions after the introductions made (anything more said would be a spoiler). The plot was fast paced at times then it would drag a bit and continued in this mode throughout the book. My opinion, and this is just my opinion, I felt that Abby Quinn, the witness, was in the background for most of the story and, after reading the synopsis, assumed a lot of the attention would have been about her. I felt that it was an easy mystery read. My Rating: 3

    3.00 out of 5

    CMash

Reviews provided by Librarything.