Costa Book Awards 2017

The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. See which titles made the shortlist for the 2017 awards below.

Costa Novel Award Shortlist

Reservoir 13 : Shortlisted for the 2017 Costa Novel Award - Jon McGregor

A GUARDIAN BOOK OF THE YEAR AN FT BOOK OF THE YEAR A TLS BOOK OF THE YEAR AN OBSERVER BOOK OF THE YEAR A TELEGRAPH BOOK OF THE YEAR From the award-winning author of If Nobody Speaks of Remarkable Things.

Reservoir 13 tells the story of many lives haunted by one family's loss. ...

£14.99

£11.79

Tin Man - Sarah Winman

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 COSTA NOVEL AWARDThe beautiful and heartbreaking new novel from Sarah Winman, author of the international bestseller WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT.'Her best novel to date' Observer'An exquisitely crafted tale of love and loss' Guardian'A marvel' Sunday Express'Astoundingly beautiful' Matt HaigIt begins with a painting won in a raffle: fifteen sunflowers, hung on the wall by a...

£12.99

£10.65

Home Fire : SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA NOVEL AWARD 2017 - Kamila Shamsie

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA NOVEL AWARD 2017LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017A GUARDIAN BOOK OF THE YEAR 2017AN OBSERVER BOOK OF THE YEAR 2017A TELEGRAPH BOOK OF THE YEAR 2017A NEW STATESMAN BOOK OF THE YEAR 2017AN EVENING STANDARD BOOK OF THE YEAR 2017 A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK OF THE YEAR 2017'Elegant and evocative ...

A powerful exploration of the clash between society, family and faith in the...

£16.99

£11.69

Under a Pole Star : Shortlisted for the 2017 Costa Novel Award - Stef Penney

RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB 2017. SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 COSTA NOVEL AWARD.'A dazzling tale of romance and survival' (Guardian)Follow the path to the freezing north.

Follow your ambition. Follow your heartFlora Mackie first crossed the Arctic Circle at the age of twelve.

Years later, in 1892, determination and chance lead her back to northern Greenland as a scientist at the head of a British...

£7.99

£7.25

Costa First Novel Award Shortlist

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine : Debut Bestseller and Costa First Novel Book Award Shortlist 2017 - Gail Honeyman

The Sunday Times bestseller Soon to be a major motion picture produced by Reese Witherspoon `Funny, touching and unpredictable' Jojo Moyes Eleanor Oliphant has learned how to survive - but not how to live Eleanor Oliphant leads a simple life.

She wears the same clothes to work every day,...

£12.99

£10.65

The Haunting of Henry Twist : Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award 2017 - Rebecca F. John

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2017London, 1926: Henry Twist's heavily pregnant wife leaves home to meet a friend.

On the way, she is hit by a bus and killed, though miraculously the baby survives.

Henry is left with nothing but his new daughter - a single father in a world without single fathers.

He hurries the baby home, terrified that she'll be taken from him.

Racked with guilt and...

£14.99

£11.45

The Clocks in This House All Tell Different Times - Xan Brooks

Shortlisted for the 2017 Costa First Novel Award New Faces of Fiction 2017, Observer Observer Fiction to look out for in 2017 The Irish Times What To Look Out for in 2017 from Independent Publishers Jen Campbell's `Most Anticipated Books of 2017' Jean Bookish Thoughts `Most Anticipated Releases of 2017' A...

£8.99

£7.69

Montpelier Parade - Karl Geary

Selected as a Book of the Year in 2017 in the Irish Times and The Times SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2017 `A delicate, crystalline, hugely impressive novel...

He's yet another masterful younger writer coming through...

Wonderful' - Sebastian BarryHer house is on Montpelier Parade - just across town, but it might as well be a different world.

Sonny is fixing a crumbling wall in the...

£8.99

£6.65

Costa Biography Award Shortlist

Fragile Lives : A Heart Surgeon's Stories of Life and Death on the Operating Table - Stephen Westaby

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA BIOGRAPHY PRIZE THE SUNDAY TIMES NO.2 BESTSELLER WINNER OF THE BMA PRESIDENT'S AWARD 2017 An incredible memoir from one of the world's most eminent heart surgeons, recalling some of the most remarkable and poignant cases he's worked on. Grim Reaper sits on the heart surgeon's...

£14.99

£11.79

In the Days of Rain : Shortlisted for the 2017 Costa Biography Award - Rebecca Stott

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 COSTA BIOGRAPHY AWARD In the vein of Bad Blood and Why be Happy when you can be Normal?: an enthralling, at times shocking, and deeply personal family memoir of growing up in, and breaking away from, a fundamentalist Christian cult. `At university when I made new friends and confidantes, I couldn't explain...

£16.99

£12.95

A Bold and Dangerous Family : The Rossellis and the Fight Against Mussolini - Caroline Moorehead

Praise for A Train in Winter: "A story of stunning courage, generosity and hope...In Moorehead's expert hands it is a triumphant one." (Mail on Sunday).

Praise for Village of Secrets: "An uplifting tale of courage and morality." (The Sunday Times).

Mussolini was not only ruthless: he was subtle and manipulative.

Black-shirted thugs did his dirty work for him: arson, murder, destruction of homes and...

£20.00

£15.09

Once Upon A Time in the East : A Story of Growing Up - Xiaolu Guo

*Shortlisted for the Costa Biography Award 2017***Selected as a 2017 Book of the Year in the Sunday Times**'This generation's Wild Swans' Daily Telegraph'One of the most startling and fascinating memoirs I've read in recent years...a story of China' Libby Purves'Impressive...moving...exhilarating' Financial Times'Guo is rebellious, flamboyant and fundamentally optimistic...fascinating' Scotland...

£16.99

£12.35

Costa Poetry Award Shortlist

Useful Verses - Richard Osmond

Richard Osmond's debut collection Useful Verses follows in the tradition of the best nature writing, being as much about the human world as the natural, the present as the past: Osmond, a professional forager, has a deep knowledge of flora and fauna as they appear in both natural and human history, as they are depicted in both folklore and herbal - but he views them through a wholly contemporary...

£9.99

£7.59

Inside the Wave - Helen Dunmore

To be alive is to be inside the wave, always travelling until it breaks and is gone.

These poems are concerned with the borderline between the living and the dead - the underworld and the human living world - and the exquisitely intense being of both.

They possess a spare, eloquent lyricism as they explore the bliss and anguish of the voyage. Inside the Wave is Helen Dunmore's first new poetry...

£9.95

£7.65

On Balance - Sinead Morrissey

Winner of the 2017 Forward Prize for Best Collection.

Winner of the 2017 Poetry Book Society Choice Award.

Shortlisted for the 2017 Costa Poetry Award. Set against a backdrop of ecological and economic instability, Sinead Morrissey's sixth collection, On Balance, revisits some of the great feats of human engineering to reveal the states of balance and inbalance that have shaped our history.

The...

£9.99

£7.95

Kumukanda - Kayo Chingonyi

*Shortlisted for the Costa Poetry Prize 2017**Selected as a 2017 Book of the Year in the Guardian and Daily Telegraph*`Urban and urbane, it's a magnificent debut' Daily Telegraph`A brilliant debut - a tender, nostalgic and at times darkly hilarious exploration of black boyhood, masculinity and grief - from one of my favourite writers' - Warsan Shire Translating as `initiation', kumukanda is the...

£10.00

£7.65

Costa Children’s Book Award Shortlist

The Explorer : SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA CHILDREN'S BOOK AWARD 2017 - Katherine Rundell

From his seat in the tiny aeroplane, Fred watches as the mysteries of the Amazon jungle pass by below him.

He has always dreamed of becoming an explorer, of making history and of reading his name amongst the lists of great discoveries.

If only he could land and look about him. As the plane crashes into the canopy, Fred is suddenly left without a choice.

He and the three other children may be...

£12.99

£10.25

Moonrise : SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA CHILDREN'S BOOK AWARD 2017 - Sarah Crossan

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA CHILDREN'S BOOK AWARD 2017.

The astonishing new novel from Carnegie Medal, CliPPA Poetry Award, YA Book Prize and CBI Book of the Year Award winning author Sarah Crossan.

They think I hurt someone. But I didn't. You hear?Cos people are gonna be telling youall kinds of lies. I need you to know the truth. Joe hasn't seen his brother for ten years, and it's for the most...

£12.99

£10.25

The Island at the End of Everything - Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Amihan lives on Culion Island, where some of the inhabitants - including her mother - have leprosy.

Ami loves her home - with its blue seas and lush forests, Culion is all she has ever known.

But the arrival of malicious government official Mr Zamora changes her world forever: islanders untouched by sickness are forced to leave. Banished across the sea, she's desperate...

£6.99

£6.39

Wed Wabbit - Lissa Evans

You're called Fidge and you're nearly eleven. You've been hurled into a strange world. You have three companions: two are unbelievably weird and the third is your awful cousin Graham.

You have to solve a series of nearly impossible clues.

You need to deal with a cruel dictator and three thousand Wimbley Woos (yes, you read that sentence correctly). And the whole situation - the whole, entire thing...

£10.99

£9.15