Costa Book Awards 2016

The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. Congratulations to the 2016 winner, and now double winner - Sebastian Barry!

Costa Novel Award Winner and 2016 Overall Winner

Days Without End - Sebastian Barry

"A beautiful, savage, tender, searing work of art. Sentence after perfect sentence it grips and does not let go." (Donal Ryan). "A violent, superbly lyrical western offering a sweeping vision of America in the making [and] the most fascinating line-by-line first person narration I've come across in years." (Kazuo Ishiguro). "I am thinking of the days without end of my life..." After signing up...



Item not Available

Costa First Novel Award Winner

Golden Hill - Francis Spufford

Winner of the Costa First Novel Award 2016Winner of the RSL Ondaatje Prize 2017Winner of the Desmond Elliott Prize 2017Shortlisted for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2017Shortlisted for the Rathbones Folio Prize 2017Shortlisted for the Authors' Club Best First Novel Award 2017Shortlisted for the British Book Awards Debut Novel of the Year 2017New York, a small town on the tip of...



Costa Biography Award Winner

Dadland : A Journey into Uncharted Territory - Keggie Carew

***Winner of the Costa Biography Award***Keggie Carew grew up in the gravitational field of an unorthodox father who lived onhis wits and dazzling charm.

As his memory begins to fail, she embarks on a quest to unravel his story, and soon finds herself in a far more consuming place than she had bargained for. Tom Carew was a maverick, a left-handed stutterer, a law unto himself.

As a member of an...



Costa Poetry Award Winner

Falling Awake - Alice Oswald

Winner of the 2017 Griffin PrizeWinner of the 2016 Costa Poetry AwardShortlisted for the 2016 T.

S. Eliot AwardShortlisted for the 2016 Forward PrizeA Daily Telegraph / Guardian / Herald / New Statesman / Sunday Times / Times Literary Supplement Book of the YearAlice Oswald's poems are always vivid and distinct, alert and deeply, physically, engaged in the natural world.

Mutability - a sense that...



Costa Children’s Book Award Winner

The Bombs That Brought Us Together : Shortlisted for the Costa Children's Book Award 2016 - Brian Conaghan

Fourteen-year-old Charlie Law has lived in Little Town, on the border with Old Country, all his life.

He knows the rules: no going out after dark; no drinking; no litter; no fighting.

You don't want to get on the wrong side of the people who run Little Town.

When he meets Pavel Duda, a refugee from Old Country, the rules start to get broken.

Then the bombs come, and the soldiers from Old Country, and...



Item not Available