Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Klaus Flugge Prize

Established in 2016, the Klaus Flugge Prize is awarded to the most promising and exciting newcomer to children’s picture book illustration. It honours Klaus Flugge, founder of publisher Andersen Press and a supremely influential figure in picture books. 

Past winners are Nicholas John Frith (Hector and Hummingbird), Francesca Sanna (The Journey), Kate Milner (My Name is Not Refugee), Jessica Love (Julian is a Mermaid) and Eva Eland (When Sadness Comes to Call). Flavia Z. Drago won in 2021 for Gustavo the Shy Ghost.

Click here to find out more about The Klaus Flugge Prize.

The Klaus Flugge Prize 2022 Shortlist

Chair of the Judges, Julia Eccleshare

"Our judges have selected a shortlist full of humour, drama, beauty and big ideas. We can see in these six books values that are intrinsic to so many of the picture books published by Klaus Flugge: empathy, diversity, a child-centredness and a generosity of spirit. The illustrators’ ability as artists and storytellers is very exciting. Post-pandemic, picture books are booming." Read More...

The Klaus Flugge Prize 2022 Longlist

Chair of the Judges, Julia Eccleshare

"Providing their first experience of books and reading, picture books are vital to children’s development, opening up the world and providing all-important early encounters with art and story. It is always exhilarating therefore to consider the books submitted for the Klaus Flugge Prize and we are delighted to have received so many entries this year and to be celebrating these exciting, talented newcomers."  Read More >>