Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


Women's Prize for Fiction

The Women's Prize for Fiction was setup in 1996 and celebrates the excellence, originality of fiction by women writers. The award is held annually and has seen some amazing full length fiction from women around the world introduced into the spotlight. 

Find out about the winning and shortlisted titles for the 2019 award for the Women's Prize for Fiction.

2019 Women's Prize for Fiction Winner

Chair of the Judges, Professor Kate Williams

This is an exquisitely intimate portrait of a marriage shattered by racial injustice. It is a story of love, loss and loyalty, the resilience of the human spirit painted on a big political canvas – that shines a light on today’s America. We all loved this brilliant book.

An American Marriage - Tayari Jones

Newlyweds Celestial and Roy are the embodiment of the American Dream.

He is a young executive, and she is an artist on the brink of an exciting career.

Until one day they are ripped apart by circumstances neither could have imagined.

Roy is arrested and sentenced to twelve years for a crime Celestial knows he didn't commit.



The 2019 Shortlisted Titles


Anna Burns



My Sister, the Serial Killer

Oyinkan Braithwaite



Ordinary People

Diana Evans