Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Children's Book of the Month

A reason to read...

A stunning and heartbreaking new novel from Jamila Gavin, the bestselling and award-winning author of Coram Boy and The Wheel of Surya. It is a story of hope, fear and unbreakable friendship, perfect for readers of Code Name Verity and When the World Was Ours.

Never Forget You - Jamila Gavin

England, 1937. Gwen, Noor, Dodo and Vera are four very different teenage girls, with something in common.

Their parents are all abroad, leaving them in their English boarding school, where they soon form an intense friendship. The four friends think that no matter what, they will always have each other. Then the war comes.

The girls find themselves flung to different corners of the war, from the flying planes in the Air Transport Auxiliary to going undercover in the French Resistance. Each journey brings danger and uncertainty as each of them wonders if they can make it through - and what will be left of the world. But at the same time, this is what shows them who they really are - and against this impossible backdrop, they find new connections and the possibility of love.

Will the four friends ever see each other again? And when the war is over, who will be left to tell the story?

£8.99

£8.49

Meet the Author

Jamila Gavin

Jamila Gavin was born in Mussoorie, India, in the foothills of the Himalayas. With an Indian father and an English mother, she inherited two rich cultures that ran side by side throughout her life and always made her feel she belonged to both countries. Jamila’s family moved to England when she was 11. She studied music and worked for the BBC before having a family of her own and becoming a children’s writer, wanting to reflect the multicultural world in which she and her children now lived.

She won the Whitbread Children's Book Award for Coram Boy in 2000 and became a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2014.

Also by Jamila Gavin  |  View All