Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


Author of the Month

Kate Atkinson

Kate Atkinson won the Whitbread (now Costa) Book of the Year prize with her first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum. Her four bestselling novels featuring former detective Jackson Brodie became the BBC television series Case Histories, starring Jason Isaacs.

Her last novel, Life After Life, was the winner of the Costa Novel Award and the South Bank Sky Arts Literature Prize, and was shortlisted for the Women’s Prize. It was also voted Book of the Year for the independent booksellers associations on both sides of the Atlantic. Her new novel A God in Ruins is a companion to Life After Life.

She was appointed MBE in the 2011 Queen’s Birthday Honours List, and was voted Waterstones UK Author of the Year at the 2013 Specsavers National Book Awards.

Kate Atkinson makes history

Kate Atkinson is the first ever author to win three Costa Book category awards. She won Best Novel in 2013 for Life After Life and the best First Novel prize for her 1995 debut, Behind the Scenes at the Museum. 2016 has just seen her scoop the Costa Novel Prize again for her latest book, A God in Ruins.

Top Books from Kate Atkinson   |  See more