Short Walks in Lakeland Book 1: South Lakeland, Paperback Book

Short Walks in Lakeland Book 1: South Lakeland Paperback


A guidebook of 60 short walks in the south of the English Lake District, the first of a three-part series covering the whole of Lakeland.

This guide divides the South Lake District into four regions: the Central Fells, the area around Coniston Water and Windermere, the Eastern Fells and Dales, and the Limestone Fringe. 60 short walks are described, generally between 4 and 9 miles, enough to pleasantly fill a good half-day, and ideal for day visitors or family walkers.

Some longer walks could be split, others combined. It is not a high fell walking guide, although several popular summits are included.

Interesting features are pointed out along the way, and the hand-drawn maps include relevant walk details.

The combination of detailed description and clear, easy-to-follow maps and evocative sketches makes this book ideal for anyone who wants to explore Lakeland.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Cicerone Press
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Walking, hiking, trekking
  • ISBN: 9781852841447



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops