In Search of Julian Carrillo and Sonido 13, Hardback Book

In Search of Julian Carrillo and Sonido 13 Hardback

Part of the Currents in Latin American and Iberian Music series


In the 1920s, the Mexican composer Julian Carrillo (1875-1965) developed a microtonal system called El Sonido 13 (The 13th Sound).

Although his pioneering role as one of the first proponents of microtonality within the Western art music tradition elevated Carrillo to iconic status among European avant-garde circles in the 1960s and 1970s, his music and legacy have remained largely overlooked by music scholars, critics, and performers.

Confronting this paucity of scholarship on Carrillo and his music, Alejandro L.

Madrid goes above and beyond "filling in" the historical record.

Combining archival and ethnographic research with musical analysis and cultural theory, Madrid argues that Carrillo and Sonido 13 are best understood as a cultural complex: a network of moments, spaces, and articulations in which Carrillo and his music continuously re-acquire significance and meaning.

Thus, Madrid explores Carrillo's music and ideas not only in relation to the historical moments of their incepti


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 328 pages
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Theory of music & musicology
  • ISBN: 9780190215781

Other Formats


Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Alejandro L. Madrid   |  View all

Also in the Currents in Latin American and Iberian Music series   |  View all