Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


The Life of Ludwig van Beethoven: Volume 3, Paperback / softback Book

The Life of Ludwig van Beethoven: Volume 3 Paperback / softback

Part of the Cambridge Library Collection - Music series


This authoritative biography of Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) was a landmark in its meticulous research and use of source material.

For the American author Alexander Wheelock Thayer (1817-97), it represented a lifelong labour of love, yet it remained unfinished at his death.

His friend Hermann Deiters (1833-1907) edited and translated Thayer's work into German, publishing three volumes which covered Beethoven's life to 1816.

Since Deiters also died before the biography could be completed, musicologist Hugo Riemann (1849-1919) was called upon to conclude the work.

The final German volumes appeared in 1907 and 1908. It was the American critic Henry Edward Krehbiel (1854-1923) who prepared the present work, the first and considerably revised English version, published in three volumes in 1921.

Volume 3 covers Beethoven's final years, his ninth symphony and late quartets.


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 366 pages, 1 Plates, black and white
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Classical music (c 1750 to c 1830)
  • ISBN: 9781108064750

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops