Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


Journey in Satchidananda, Vinyl / 12" Album Vinyl

Journey in Satchidananda Vinyl / 12" Album

by Alice Coltrane


The fourth solo album by Alice Coltrane. Its title and title track reflects Coltrane's inspiration by Swami Satchidananda, whom Coltrane had become close to while being his disciple. 'Shiva-Loka', or 'realm of Shiva' references the realm of the third member of the Hindu trinity, the 'dissolver of creation'. 'Stopover Bombay' refers to a five-week stay in India and Sri Lanka on which Coltrane was due to go in December 1970. 'Something About John Coltrane' is based on themes by her late husband, John Coltrane.

Track Listing

  1. Journey in Satchidananda 6.40
  2. Shiva-Loka 6.38
  3. Stopover Bombay 2.54
  4. Something About John Coltrane 9.45
  5. Isis and Osiris 11.30


  • Format: Vinyl / 12" Album
  • Label: Import Music Services
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Release Date:
  • Running Time (minutes): 37.20
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • EAN: 0011105022811


Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops