The Third Life of Grange Copeland, Paperback Book


Alice Walker's powerful first novel. Alice Walker's first book recounts the lives of three generations growing up in Georgia, where the author herself grew up.

Grange Copeland is a black tenant farmer who is forced to leave his land and family in search of a better future.

He heads North but discovers that the racism and poverty he experienced in the South are, in fact, everywhere.

When he returns to Georgia years later he finds that his son Brownfield has been imprisoned for the murder of his wife.

But hope comes in the form of the third generation as the guardian of the couple's youngest daughter, Grange Copeland, who glimpses a chance of both spiritual and social freedom.


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops