Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Chicken Soup for the Soul: I'm Speaking Now : Black Women Share Their Truth in 101 Stories of Love, Courage and Hope, Paperback / softback Book

Chicken Soup for the Soul: I'm Speaking Now : Black Women Share Their Truth in 101 Stories of Love, Courage and Hope Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback


Now more than ever, the strong, independent, courageous voices of Black women are being heard loud and clear.

They share their truth about life, love, family, faith and hope in these 101 personal stories and 12 powerful poems.

The world is listening. Black women are speaking, for themselves and their families, and everyone is listening.

This unique collection of stories is for readers of all colors, not just the Black community, as these contributors share their dreams, their triumphs and failures, and their lives, which have unique challenges and hardships that are not well understood by others.

Readers of color will recognize their own struggles in these pages, and white readers will benefit from an inside view of Black life in America, Canada and beyond. These 101 stories and 12 poems, written by and for Black women, cover it all-from fierce to funny-about hopes and dreams, fears and realities, identity and self-discovery, family, children, even hair.

Each one starts with a quote connecting you to a wellspring of wisdom from historical and contemporary Black women. "We are speaking now," says Breena Clarke, coauthor of this book. "Because the moment is now, in this collection of first-person narratives.

This is an opportunity to hear the often silenced voices of Black women, writing for you and because of you.

These are stories of universal human experiences but also reflect the specificity of Black women's lives in the United States, Canada and the Caribbean." Everyone will benefit from this look into the culture, wisdom, and everyday reality of the Black experience, with 11 chapters, each starting with a powerful poem: * The Shoulders We Stand On * Where We Come From * Everyday Struggles * Stand Up, Speak Out * Raising Our Children * Family & Food for the Soul * Taking Care of Me * Sisters, Friends * Loving Black Men * Identity & Roots * Self-Discovery Chicken Soup for the Soul books are 100% made in the USA and each book includes stories from as diverse a group of writers as possible.

Chicken Soup for the Soul solicits and publishes stories from the LGBTQ community and from people of all ethnicities, nationalities, and religions.


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops