Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Supporting your high street Find out how »
Finding Clara : a page-turning epic set in the aftermath of World War II, eAudiobook MP3 eaudioBook

Finding Clara : a page-turning epic set in the aftermath of World War II eAudiobook MP3

Narrated by Honeysuckle Weeks

eAudiobook MP3

Please note: eAudiobooks can only be purchased with a UK issued credit card.

Description

Brought to you by Penguin.

_____________________________________________
1946. The ruins of Essen, Germany. A place that can't quite believe the Second World War has been lost.

There's Clara. Once a wartime icon and heiress to the Falkenberg iron works, she now finds herself on the run from the Allied authorities, accused by the zealous Allied occupiers of complicity in her father's war crimes.

There's Jakob. A charming black marketeer, badly wounded in the war but determined to help what's left of his family survive the peace.

There's Willy. A teenage boy diligently guarding a mine full of Wehrmacht supplies, his only friend a canary named Gertrud. Convinced the war isn't over, he refuses to surrender his post.

When Clara returns to her hometown expecting to find her best friend, she finds everything she once knew in ruins. But in war-ravaged Germany, it's not just the buildings that are scarred: everyone is changed, everyone lives in the wreckage of their own past.

To survive, Clara must hide who she is. But to live, she must face up to the truth of what she's done.
_____________________________________________
Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and My Name is Eva

'FINDING CLARA is the kind of novel we need now more than ever, [and] achieves what the best historical fiction can . . . pushing us to see ourselves in that past, demanding: Who would you have been then? What would you have done? Unflinching and absorbing, [it] does not let you look away.'
Sarah Blake, New York Times bestselling author of THE POSTMISTRESS
_____________________________________________
Readers are falling in love with Finding Clara:

'A story that kept me engrossed from start to finish. I loved it.'
'A stunning debut that will stay with me long after finishing the last page.'
'A brilliant story which will keep you reading late into the night!'
'An intense, dark and twisted historical read that skilfully portrays the often common experiences, horrors and dilemmas of being on the losing side in a war for ordinary people.'
'A fascinating read about fighting for survival in post-World War 2 Germany'
'The story is a page turner which had me gripped the whole way through'
'A gripping read with a well-drawn characters.'
'For those that love historical fiction, this was an unique and gripping plot'

(c) Anika Scott 2020 (P) Penguin Audio 2020

Information

Other Formats

Also by Anika Scott