Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Sleeper Agent : The Atomic Spy in America Who Got Away, Paperback / softback Book

Sleeper Agent : The Atomic Spy in America Who Got Away Paperback / softback

Part of the A True Crime Spy Thriller series

Paperback / softback

Description

Nominated for an Edgar Award? This “historical page-turner of the highest order” (The Wall Street Journal) tells the chilling story of an American-born Soviet spy in the atom bomb project in World War II, perfect for fans of The Americans. George Koval was born in Iowa. In 1932, his parents, Russian Jews who had emigrated because of anti-Semitism, decided to return home to live out their socialist ideals.

George, who was as committed to socialism as they were, went with them.

There, he was recruited by the Soviet Army as a spy and returned to the US in 1940.

A gifted science student, he enrolled at Columbia University, where he knew scientists soon to join the Manhattan Project, America’s atom bomb program.

After being drafted into the US Army, George used his scientific background and connections to secure an assignment at a site where plutonium and uranium were produced to fuel the atom bomb.

There, and later in a second top-secret location, he had full access to all facilities, and he passed highly sensitive information to Moscow. There were hundreds of spies in the US during World War II, but Koval was the only Soviet military spy with security clearances in the atomic-bomb project.

The ultimate sleeper agent, he was an all-American boy who had played baseball, loved Walt Whitman’s poetry, and mingled freely with fellow Americans.

After the war he got away without a scratch. It is indisputable that his information landed in the right hands in Moscow.

In 1949, Soviet scientists produced a bomb identical to America’s years earlier than US experts expected. A gripping, fast-paced, and “fascinating” (Bob Shacochis, National Book Award–winning author of The Woman Who Lost Her Soul) story about one undetected spy whose actions influenced history, Sleeper Agent is perfect for Ben Macintyre fans.

Information

Other Formats

Save 9%

£9.99

£9.09

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also in the A True Crime Spy Thriller series