logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

Dear Edward, Hardback Book

Dear Edward Hardback

Description

'Astonishing' Marian Keyes'Outstanding' John Boyne A luminous, life-affirming novel about a 12-year-old boy who is the sole survivor of a deadly plane crashOne summer morning, a flight takes off from New York to Los Angeles.

There are 191 passengers aboard: among them a young woman taking a pregnancy test in the airplane toilet; a Wall Street millionaire flirting with the air hostess; an injured soldier returning from Afghanistan; and two beleaguered parents moving across the country with their adolescent sons, bickering over who gets the window seat.

When the plane suddenly crashes in a field in Colorado, the younger of these boys, 12-year-old Edward Adler, is the sole survivor. Dear Edward depicts Edward's life in the crash's aftermath as he struggles to make sense of the meaning of his survival, the strangeness of his sudden fame, and find his place in the world without his family.

In his new home with his aunt and uncle, the only solace comes from his friendship with the girl next door, Shay.

Together Edward and Shay make a startling discovery: hidden in his uncle's garage are sacks of letters from the relatives of the other passengers, addressed to Edward. As Edward comes of age against the backdrop of sudden tragedy, he must confront some of life's most profound questions: how do we make the most of the time we are given? And what does it mean not just to survive, but to truly live? 'A rich, big-hearted tapestry. Fans of Room and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close will be spellbound by Dear Edward' Chloe Benjamin, author of The Immortalists'A profoundly beautiful, page-turning story of mystery, loss, and wonder' Hannah Tinti, author of The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley and The Good Thief 'Dear Edward is a masterpiece that should be at the top of everyone's reading list.' J.

Courtney Sullivan, bestselling author of Saints for All Occasions 'I loved Dear Edward so, so much.

It made me laugh and weep. Magnificent!' Lily King, author of Euphoria

Information

£12.99

£10.25

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Ann Napolitano

£25.95

£21.29