Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

A Widow's Courage : Birch End Series 2, Paperback / softback Book

A Widow's Courage : Birch End Series 2 Paperback / softback

Part of the Birch End series

Paperback / softback


Lancashire 1934. Three years after her husband's sudden death, Stella comes into some money unexpectedly and decides to make a new start in the country.

She settles on Ellin Valley, where she quickly begins to make friends.

She falls in love with a cottage in Birch End, but an unscrupulous man wants it too.

Will she be able to buy her dream home? Life has changed drastically for local handyman Wilf Pollard as well.

When tragedy strikes, Wilf is left as the only support of his two young children.

But his friends rally round to help so that he can pull his life together and take up an exciting new job with a well-respected builder.

Some of the local council are eager to deal with the squalid conditions of the Backshaw Moss slum, but others will stop at nothing to keep their profitable rents. And Stella's dream cottage is threatened by their plans to build yet more cheap housing.

Can Stella, Wilf and the residents of Birch End pull together to make sure good triumphs over evil?Readers are loving the Birch End series!'Amazing' - 5 STARS'Thank you, Anna, for the pleasure you give in all your books' - 5 STARS'Another brilliant, hard-to-put-down book' - 5 STARS'Can't wait for the next instalment' - 5 STARS'A real page turner, I can't wait to read the next one' - 5 STARS'Another triumph for Anna Jacobs' - 5 STARS'BRILLIANT READ' - 5 STARS


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Also by Anna Jacobs  |  View all

Also in the Birch End series  |  View all