Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

Fur Coat, No Knickers, Paperback / softback Book

Fur Coat, No Knickers Paperback / softback

Description

A city torn apart by war. A family torn apart by tragedy. At the top of Lester Road in London's East End stands 'Paddy's Castle', the three-storey, red-bricked Georgian house that is home to Grace Donnelly and her family. Life may be hard in the late 1930s, but it is nothing compared with what is about to follow.

Grace's beloved fiance Stanley decides to enlist in the fight against Nazi Germany. And as the sirens signal blitz after blitz of bombers, the family can only hide in the cellar and hope they will survive. But Grace has more than just the Germans to worry about.

The good-looking Nobby Clark is keen to do more than just look out for his best friend's fiancee. And scheming barmaid Beryl Lovesett is determined to worm her way into the family home, seducing Grace's uncle with her fur coat, no knickers... A classic World War Two saga, Fur Coat, No Knickers is a perfect read for fans of Carol Rivers, Sally Warboyes, and Annie Murray.

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.89

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops