Miller Plays : "Golden Years",  The "Man Who Had All the Luck",  I "Can't Remember Anything",  "Clara" v. 4, Paperback / softback Book

Miller Plays : "Golden Years", The "Man Who Had All the Luck", I "Can't Remember Anything", "Clara" v. 4 Paperback / softback

Part of the World Classics series


The fourth volume of Miller's plays reissued to coincide with the publication of the sixth and final volume of his plays in the Methuen Drama World Classics series.

The volume features an introduction by the author and a chronology of his work.

Arthur Miller's two early plays, The Golden Years, a historical tragedy about Montezuma's destruction at the hands of Cortez, and The Man Who Had All the Luck, a fable about human freedom and individual responsibility, are brought together in this volume.

It also features two of his contemporary shorter plays, I Can't Remember Anything and Clara, first presented on a double bill as Danger!

Memory. The latter focus on the importance and dangers of remembering the past, while the early plays, written at the time of the Second World War, mark the emergence of a drama in which public issues are rooted in private anxieties and chart the beginning of Miller's career that was one of the most distinguished in dramatic history. First produced in 1944 and revived in London in 2008, The Man Who Had All the Luck is a mesmerising drama in which the author's brilliance and characterstic qualities are already evident: 'Listen to the dialogue: no other American dramatist has this feel for the ordinary talk of ordinary people, or the knowledge of what they do.

This is more than a writer's craft, it is a psychological and moral openness to humanity, an act not of imitating, but of sharing'.

Sunday Times 'The greatest American dramatist of our age' Evening Standard


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 288 pages, n/a
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Plays, playscripts
  • ISBN: 9781408111338



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also in the World Classics series   |  View all