The Vintage Springtime Club, Paperback Book

Description

Perfect for fans of A MAN CALLED OVE, THE BEST EXOTIC MARIGOLD HOTEL and THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP Newly retired Philip returns home to Cologne and is thrown into emotional turmoil upon bumping into his long-lost sweetheart.

In the midst of a domestic crisis, Ricarda confides in Philip that she is looking for somewhere to live. And there and then, Philip suggests that she move in with him - he is setting up a flatshare.

Will she join him with his mischievous dachshund named Ralf?To his surprise, Ricarda agrees, leaving Philip to scramble together a crew of retires in time for spring, for the most unlikely of social experiments.

There's grumpy cigarette-smoking grandfather Harry; quiet and discreet Eckart, curiously carting around his late wife's headstone; Uschi, brimming with life, harbouring a passion for leotards and aerobics, along with sausages and outrageous knitting patterns; and then, ever-practical and warm-hearted Ricarda, towards whom Phillip is developing real feelings.

Despite their differences, the flatmates thrive and embark on a series of new adventures.

But when Uschi falls unwell, familiar cracks begin to show and this uniquely spirited club of friends must work together in order to survive - and truly blossom. Read what people are saying about The Vintage Springtime Club'Such a wonderful, uplifting story. When I finished I felt a warm frisson of emotion enveloping me. It's difficult to believe this is Beatrice's first novel' (Kraftireader) 'This gentle book is full of warmth and is an easy enjoyable read' (Portobello Book Blog)'A charming debut novel' (Alba Forcadell)'A wonderful tale of life, friendship and love that kept me hooked until the very end' (Reading Room With a View)

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.09

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops