Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Queen High : The brilliant sequel to Widowland, Hardback Book

Queen High : The brilliant sequel to Widowland Hardback

Hardback

Description

The thrilling sequel to Widowland, 'Clever, thrilling, brilliantly imagined ... chillingly convincing post-war dystopia' (Clare Chambers).

Perfect for fans of Fatherland and The Handmaid's Tale. June, 1955The Leader has been dead for two years. His assassination, on British soil, provoked violent retribution and intensified repression of British citizens, particularly women.

Now, more than ever, the Protectorate is a place of surveillance and isolation - a land of spies. Every evening Rose Ransom looks in the mirror and marvels that she's even alive.

A mere woman, her role in the Leader's death has been miraculously overlooked.

She still works at the Culture Ministry, where her work now focuses on the outlawed subject of Poetry, a form of writing that transmits subversive meanings, emotions and signals that cannot be controlled. Therefore all Poetry is banned and Rose is appointed a Poet Hunter. To widespread surprise, President Eisenhower is to make a state visit to the Alliance and Rose is tasked with visiting the widowed Queen Wallis to provide a background briefing.

When she arrives at the palace, she finds Wallis in a state of paranoia, desperate to return to America and enjoy the liberty of her homeland.

She claims she has a secret document so explosive that it will blow the Protectorate apart - but will the last Queen of England pull the trigger on the Alliance?

Information

£16.99

£13.75

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by C J Carey

£8.99

£8.65

£14.99

£12.59