Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Excitements : Two sprightly ninety-year-olds seek revenge in this feelgood mystery for fans of Richard Osman, Hardback Book

The Excitements : Two sprightly ninety-year-olds seek revenge in this feelgood mystery for fans of Richard Osman Hardback

Hardback

Description

'I will be thinking about Penny, Josephine and Archie for a while yet!' ?????'A fun and entertaining story that made me laugh out loud!' ?????'Highly recommend!' ?????_____________________________________________________________A charming, uplifting and cosy mystery about two national treasures hiding official secrets and double lives - perfect for fans of THE THURSDAY MURDER CLUB. Revenge is a dish best served old... Meet the Williamson sisters, Britain's most treasured World War II veterans.

Now in their nineties, Josephine and Penny are in demand, popping up at commemorative events all over the country.

Despite their age, they're in great form-sprightly and sparky, and always in search of their next "excitement." This time it's a trip to Paris to receive the Légion d'honneur, accompanied by their devoted great-nephew, Archie. Keen historian Archie believes his great aunts had minor roles in the Women's Royal Navy and the First Aid Nursing Yeomanry, but that's only half the story.

There's a reason sweet Auntie Penny can dispatch a would-be mugger with a brolly. This trip to Paris is not what it seems either. Scandal and crime have quietly trailed the sisters since the war.

Now armed with new information about an old adversary, these much decorated (but admittedly ancient) veterans intend to settle scores, avenge lost friends, and pull off one last heist before the curtain comes down on their illustrious careers. Penny and Josephine will return for more adventures in Jinx, coming in Spring 2025. _____________________________________________________________ 'Funny, thrilling and brilliantly researched.' SJ Bennett'It's P.G.

Wodehouse meets Dear Mrs Bird and it's utterly wonderful.' Annie Lyons 'Utterly charming and engrossing' Jenny Colgan 'A glorious, rip-roaring adventure, so funny and charming, yet laced with unexpected moments of real tenderness and reflection' Lucy Dillon'The literary equivalent to a perfect Martini, The Excitements is sharp, delicious, instantly mood-lifting and utterly intoxicating.' Kate Eberlen'Not all heroes wear capes, some wear M&S cardigans!

A triumph!' Mike Gayle'A sublime mix of comedy, drama and adventure' Jill Mansell'Just pure joy from start to finish.' Alexandra Potter'I couldn't get enough of the wonderful Williamsons.

More please!' Holly Hepburn

Information

Other Formats

Save 4%

£18.99

£18.19

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information