The Doll's Alphabet, Paperback Book


Surreal, ambitious, and exquisitely conceived, THE DOLL'S ALPHABET is a collection of stories in the tradition of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood.

Dolls, sewing machines, tinned foods, mirrors, malfunctioning bodies - many images recur in stories that are in turn child-like and naive, grotesque and very dark.

In 'Unstitching', a feminist revolution takes place.

In 'Waxy', a factory worker fights to keep hold of her Man in a society where it is frowned upon to be Manless.

In 'Agata's Machine', two schoolgirls conjure a Pierrot and an angel in a dank attic room.

In 'Notes from a Spider', a half-man, half-spider finds love in a great European city.

By constantly reinventing ways to engage with her obsessions and motifs, Camilla Grudova has come up with a method for storytelling that is highly imaginative, incredibly original, and absolutely discomfiting.


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Camilla Grudova