You Play the Girl : On Playboy Bunnies, Stepford Wives, Train Wrecks, & Other Mixed Messages, EPUB eBook

You Play the Girl : On Playboy Bunnies, Stepford Wives, Train Wrecks, & Other Mixed Messages EPUB

Please note: eBooks can only be purchased with a UK issued credit card and all our eBooks (ePub and PDF) are DRM protected.

Description

WINNER OF THE NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FOR CRITICISM
A FINALIST FOR THE PEN/DIAMONSTEIN-SPIELVOGEL AWARD FOR THE ART OF THE ESSAY

If Hollywoods treatment of women leaves you wanting, youll find good, heady company in You Play the Girl.ELLE


As a kid in the 1970s and 80s, Carina Chocano was confused by the mixed messagesall around her; messagesthat told her who she could beand who she couldn't. Dutifully absorbing all the conflicting information the culture has to offer on how to be a woman,Chocano grappled withsexed up sidekicks, princesses waiting to be saved, and morally infallible angels who seemed to have no opinions of their own. She learned that the girl is not a person, but a mans idea of what a woman should beshe'swhatever the hero needs her to be in order to become himself. It wasnt until she spent five years as a movie critic, and was laid off just after her daughter was born, however, that she really came to understand how the stories the culture tells us about what it means to be a girllimit our lives and shape our destinies. She resolved to rewrite her own story.

In You Play the Girl, Chocano blends formative personal stories with insightful and emotionally powerful analysis. Moving from Bugs Bunny to Playboy Bunnies, fromFlashdancetoFrozen,from the progressive '70s through the backlash '80s, the glib '90s, and the pornifiedaughtsand at stops in betweenshe explains how growing up in the shadow of ';the girl' taught her to think about herself and the world and what it means to raise a daughter in the face of these contorted reflections. In the tradition of Roxane Gay, Rebecca Solnit, and Susan Sontag,Chocano brilliantly shows that our identities are more fluid than we think, and certainly more complex than anything we see on any kind of screen.

Information

  • Format: EPUB
  • Pages: 304 pages
  • Publisher: HMH Books
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Feminism & feminist theory
  • ISBN: 9780544648968

£20.34

£15.26

Available to Download
 
Delivered to your inbox

to transfer to your device