Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Silken Rose : The spellbinding and completely gripping new story of England's forgotten queen . . ., Paperback / softback Book

The Silken Rose : The spellbinding and completely gripping new story of England's forgotten queen . . . Paperback / softback

Part of the The She-Wolves Trilogy series

Paperback / softback

Description

They called her the She-Wolf From Provence. She'd shape the destiny of England ... Fans of Alison Weir, Anne O'Brien and Philippa Gregory, will devour this compelling new novel, starring one of English history's most fierce and courageous forgotten heroines!'Powerful, gripping and beautifully told' - Kate Furnivall, author of The Liberation'A feast for the senses and highly recommended' - Deborah Swift, author of Pleasing Mr Pepys'Well-researched . . . Fascinating' - Joanna CourtneyREADERS LOVE THE SILKEN ROSE!***** 'Stunning start to a new series of She-Wolf Queens'***** 'Spectacular . . . I will recommend this first part of her new trilogy to everyone'***** 'Fabulous . . . A lovely, highly researched tale'***** 'Exceptionally well-written . . . From the first page I was totally caught up in the story'1236.

Ailenor of Provence, cultured and intelligent, is only thirteen when she meets her new husband, Henry III of England.

A foreign and friendless princess in a strange land she is determined to please him. And she knows that when the times comes she must provide an heir, to secure the throne against those who would snatch it away.

Rosalind, a commoner skilled in the arts of needlework and embroidery, catches the young queen's attention and a friendship blossoms.

But she is unprepared for the dangerous ramifications of winning the queen's favour ...

As closeness, and soon love, develops between Ailenor and Henry, so too does her influence on her husband and her power at court.

As France and Wales provide constant threat, and England's barons increasingly resent her influence, Ailenor must learn to be ruthless.

Who should she encourage her husband to favour? Who can she trust? Caught in a web of treachery and deceit, her choices will define the fate of England.

To protect her close friends, and her beloved children, Ailenor, the She-Wolf from Provence, would do, and endure, anything ...

AND DISCOVER THE STONE ROSE: THE SUMPTUOUS AND GRIPPING NEW NOVEL FROM CAROL MCGRATHCOMING APRIL 2022: AVAILABLE FOR PREORDER NOW!

Information

Other Formats

£9.99

£9.19

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Carol McGrath  |  View all

Also in the The She-Wolves Trilogy series  |  View all