Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Photographer of the Lost : A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick, Hardback Book

The Photographer of the Lost : A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick Hardback

Hardback

Description

**Don't miss Caroline Scott's brand-new novel When I Come Home Again, a beautiful and compelling story based on true events - out now!!**A BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK 'This excellent debut is a melancholic reminder of the rippling after-effects of war' The Times 'A touching novel of love and loss' Sunday TimesFor fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Where The Crawdads Sing comes a moving story, inspired by real events, about how hope and love will prevail against all odds. 1921 In the aftermath of war, everyone is searching for answers. Edie's husband Francis never came home and was declared 'missing, believed killed'.

But when she receives a mysterious photograph of him in the post, hope flares and she begins to search. Harry photographs gravesites on the Western Front, hired by grieving families.

Plagued by memories of his last conversation with Francis, he has never stopped searching for his brother. After years apart, their search brings them together.

As they uncover the truth they are haunted by the past and their own complex feelings - towards Francis, and towards each other. Are some questions better left unanswered? Perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Helen Dunmore, The Photographer of the Lost is a beautiful novel, inspired by real events in the wake of the First World War, about love and loss, grief and guilt, and the fleeting, fragile moments of life. Praise for The Photographer of the Lost: 'There's only one word for this novel... and that's epic... A beautifully written must-read' heat 'A gripping, devastating novel about the lost and the ones they left behind' Sarra Manning, RED 'Terrific first novel' Daily Mail 'Scott has done an amazing job of drawing on real stories to craft a powerful novel' Good Housekeeping 'A deeply poignant and immersive novel . . . told in beautiful, elevated prose. I was completely caught up in these characters' stories' Rachel Hore 'What a wonderful debut novel . . . With a mystery at its heart and a moving, but page turning hook, I couldn't stop reading' Lorna Cook 'A sublimely rendered portrait of the search for answers amidst the chaos and devastation left behind in the aftermath of World War 1' Fiona Valpy 'A poignant hymn to those who gave up their lives for their country and to those who were left behind' Fanny Blake 'I was utterly captivated by this novel, which swept me away, broke my heart, then shone wonderful light through all the pieces' Isabelle Broom 'Beautiful, unflinching: The Photographer of the Lost is going to be on an awful lot of Best Books of the Year lists, mine included... unforgettable' Iona Grey 'Momentous, revelatory and astonishing historical fiction!' Historical Novel Society

Information

Other Formats

£12.99

£10.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Caroline Scott  |  View all