Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

When I Come Home Again : 'A page-turning literary gem' THE TIMES, BEST BOOKS OF 2020, EPUB eBook

When I Come Home Again : 'A page-turning literary gem' THE TIMES, BEST BOOKS OF 2020 EPUB

EPUB

Please note: eBooks can only be purchased with a UK issued credit card and all our eBooks (ePub and PDF) are DRM protected.

Description

';A page-turning literary gem' THE TIMES,BEST BOOKS OF 2020

From the highly acclaimed author of The Photographer of the Lost, a BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick, comes a beautiful and compelling story based on true events,perfect for fans of Maggie OFarrell and Helen Dunmore.

One Great War soldier with no memory.
Three women who claim him as their own.


1918. In the last week of the First World War, a uniformed soldier is arrested in Durham Cathedral. When questioned, it becomes clear he has no memory of who he is or how he came to be there.

The soldier is given the name Adam and transferred to a rehabilitation home. His doctorJames is determined to recover who this man once was. But Adam doesn't want to remember. Unwilling to relive the trauma of war, Adam has locked his memory away, seemingly for good.

When a newspaper publishes a feature about Adam, three women come forward, each claiming that he is someone she lost in the war. But does he believe any of these women? Or is there another family out there waiting for him to come home?

Based on true events, When I Come Home Again is a beautiful and compelling story about love, loss and longing in the aftermath of war, perfect for fans of Maggie OFarrell and Helen Dunmore.

Praise forWhen I Come Home Again:

';A superb and quietly devastating novel' The Times, Book of the Month

Scott unravels her haunting tale in unpretentious but persuasive proseSunday Times

';Aheartbreaking read I highly recommend it'Anita Frank

Breathtaking exploration of loss, love and precious memories' My Weekly, Pick of the Month

';Achingly moving and most beautifully written'Rachel Hore

';This beautiful book packs a huge emotional punch' Fabulous

';Drew me in from the first line and held me enthralled until the very endFiona Valpy

';Quietly devastatingDaily Mail

A compulsive, heart-wrenching readLiz Trenow

';Powerful' Woman & Home

Page turning, mysterious, engrossing and compellingLorna Cook

';A carefully nuanced, complex story' Woman's Weekly

';Caroline Scott evokes the damage and desolation of the Great War with aching authenticityIona Grey

';Poignant' Best

';Wonderful and evocative'Suzanne Goldring

';Based on true events, this is a powerful story' Bella

';Immersive, poignant, intricately woven'Judith Kinghorn

';An evocative read'heat

';The story left me breathless. Powerful, heartrending, and oh so tender'Kate Furnivall

';Tense and compelling' Lancashire Post

';Scott litters her tale with clues and red herrings in the best mystery-writer way so we are kept guessing as to where the truth really lies' The BookBag

Information

Other Formats