The Dressmaker's Secret : A gorgeously evocative historical romance, Paperback / softback Book

The Dressmaker's Secret : A gorgeously evocative historical romance Paperback / softback

Description

A sumptuously romantic story bursting with historical colour and flavour, perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies, Philippa Gregory and Georgette Heyer. 'Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying' Katie Fford on The Apothecary's Daughter*****Italy, 1819.

Emilia Barton and her mother Sarah live a nomadic existence, travelling from town to town as itinerant dressmakers to escape their past.

When they settle in the idyllic coastal town of Pesaro, Emilia desperately hopes that, this time, they have found a permanent home.

But when Sarah is brutally attacked by an unknown assailant, a deathbed confession turns Emilia's world upside down. Seeking refuge as a dressmaker in the eccentric household of Princess Caroline of Brunswick, Emilia experiences her first taste of love with the charming Alessandro.

But her troubling history gnaws away at her. Might she, a humble dressmaker's daughter, have a more aristocratic past than she could have imagined?

When the Princess sends her on an assignment to London, she grasps the opportunity to unravel the truth. Caught up in a web of treachery and deceit, Emilia is determined to discover who she really is - even if she risks losing everything . . . *****Reader reviews:'You will never be disappointed with a Charlotte Betts book!' Amazon reviewer'Well-written and thought-provoking' Goodreads reviewer'A fantastic story loaded with history' Amazon reviewer

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical fiction
  • ISBN: 9780349414140

Other Formats

£13.99

£11.29

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops