Oxford Bookworms Library: Stage 6: Jane Eyre, Paperback Book

Oxford Bookworms Library: Stage 6: Jane Eyre Paperback

Part of the Oxford Bookworms ELT series

4.5 out of 5 (2 ratings)


Jane Eyre is alone in the world. Disliked by her aunt's family, she is sent away to school.

Here she learns that a young girl, with neither money nor family to support her, can expect little from the world.

She survives, but she wants more from life than simply to survive: she wants respect, and love.

When she goes to work for Mr Rochester, she hopes she has found both at once.

But the sound of strange laughter, late at night, behind a locked door, warns her that her troubles are only beginning.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 128 pages, halftone illustrations
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: ELT graded readers
  • ISBN: 9780194792622


Item not Available
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by

As one of my favorite books, I have already read the Chinese one many times. Though this one is much shorter, it keeps the beauty of this story very well. Jane Eyer was a short girl who was neither beautiful nor wealthy. She spent her childhood with her unkind aunt since her parents' death.She became a governess after she graduated from a charity school and loved her master. But this gentleman had already gotten a wife though he had never mention it.But at last like most of this kind of books, the ones who had true love lived together until the death sepreated them. The story is not difficult to understand but only when you read it, you can feel the power when a unlucky person struggle with the destiny ,which can really touch your heart.

Review by

An excellent adaptation for English language learners. Kept the main plot lines of the story and even some of the original language. I really enjoyed the stills of the Orson Welles movie of <i>Jane Eyre</i> (1943); I had no idea this version existed and I have to watch it.

Also by Charlotte Bronte   |  View all