Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

Scrublands : The Stunning, Word-of-Mouth Thriller of 2019, Paperback / softback Book

Scrublands : The Stunning, Word-of-Mouth Thriller of 2019 Paperback / softback

Description

'Shimmers ... a tortured tale of blood and loss' Val McDermid'Stunning ...

Scrublands is that rare combination, a page-turner that stays long in the memory' Sunday Times (Crime Book of the Month)The #1 Bestselling Australian crime novel, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane HarperIn an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself.

A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy.

But the stories he hears from the locals don't fit with the accepted version of events.

Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town.

The bodies of two backpackers - missing since the time of the massacre - are found in the scrublands.

The media descends on Riversend and Martin is the one in the spotlight.

Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist.

But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town's secrets stay buried.

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 496 pages
  • Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9781472255143

Other Formats

Save 22%

£8.99

£6.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Chris Hammer