The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove, Paperback Book

The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove Paperback

Part of the Pine Cove Series series

3 out of 5 (1 rating)


The town psychiatrist has decided to switch everybody in Pine Cove, California, from their normal antidepressants to placebos, so naturally - well, to be accurate, artificially - business is booming at the local blues bar.

Trouble is, those lonely slide-guitar notes have also attracted a colossal sea beast named Steve with, shall we say, a thing for explosive oil tanker trucks.

Suddenly, morose Pine Cove turns libidinous and is hit by a mysterious crime wave.

A beleaguered constable has to fight off his own gonzo appetites to find out what's wrong and what, if anything, to do about it.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Fantasy
  • ISBN: 9781841494517

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

'Lust Lizard' sees a return to the sleepy town of Pine Cove, some ten years after the absurd happenings of 'Practical Demonkeeping'. There is no reason to read Demonkeeping first since Lust Lizard is a self-contained story and only uses Pine Cove as a backdrop, the continuity between books is almost non-existent. The central theme is that of a lizard as old as the dinosaurs, (which makes people horny) who turns up amidst a town of habitually depressed people (who are missing there anti-depressants). Expect anything different from Moore, who is consistently producing curveball material? There are several other plotlines, all intersecting throughout the novel, it's cleverly plotted stuff. The only negative point is that Lizard is not a directly funny as Moore's other works. It's imaginative, daring, incredulous and will keep you interested until the finale. A recommended read, but be aware that there are better Moore books out there.

Also by Christopher Moore   |  View all

Also in the Pine Cove Series series