Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Most Fun We Ever Had : Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2020, Hardback Book

The Most Fun We Ever Had : Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2020 Hardback

Hardback

Description

'A literary love child of Jonathan Franzen and Anne Tyler ... an outstanding debut, assured and highly enjoyable' Observer'Should appeal to fans of Maria Semple, Emma Straub and Jennifer Egan ...

A moving, immersive, often very funny study of family and sisterhood' Sunday Times'As good as Jonathan Franzen's The Corrections or Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad; it is almost impossible to believe that it is a debut.

The Most Fun We Ever Had is as good as books come' Telegraph'Like Meg Wolitzer.

A forensic dissection of family past and present, I loved it.

If you like reading about relationships, this one is for you.' Pandora Sykes MEET THE SORENSON FAMILYMARILYN has somehow fallen into motherhood and spent four decades married toDAVID, who's pretty certain he loves her more than anyone has ever loved another person. WENDY, their eldest, a cause for concern, soothes herself with drink after being widowed young,while VIOLET, lawyer-turned-stay-at-home-mother, is disturbed by the reappearance of a son placed for adoption fifteen years earlier. LIZA, a professor, is pregnant with a baby she's not sure she wants by a man she's not sure she lovesand GRACE, their dawdling youngest daughter, lives a lie that no one in her family suspects. 'A gripping and poignant ode to a messy, loving family in all its glory' Madeline Miller, author of Circe and The Song of Achilles'Everything about this brilliant debut cuts deep: the humor, the wisdom, the pathos' Rebecca Makkai, author of The Great Believers

Information

Other Formats

£16.99

£13.19

Item not Available
 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Claire Lombardo