Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Monstrous Heart, Hardback Book

Monstrous Heart Hardback

Part of the The Deepwater Trilogy series

Hardback

Description

A sensational debut novel: gothic, romantic gaslamp fantasy at it's very best.

A magical tale of intrigue on dangerous waters and a love story for the ages.

Perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab and China Mieville Arden Beacon arrives in the salt-swept port of Vigil with a job to do.

Tasked with using the magic in her blood to keep the lighthouse burning, she needs to prove herself worthy of her family name and her ancestors' profession. But the coastline Arden must keep alight - battered by a sea teeming with colossal, ancient beasts - is far from the cultured, urban world she knows.

It is a place of secrets, rumours and tight-lipped expectations of a woman's place.

More than anyone, the town folk whisper about Arden's neighbour, Jonah Riven, the hunter of leviathans.

They say he murdered his wife. They say he is as much a monster as his prey. Amidst all her determination and homesickness Arden cannot get this shadowy stranger out of her head.

A plot swirls around the lighthouse keeper, the hunter and the authorities.

Arden must make sense of these dark waters - before they wash her away.

Information

  • Format:Hardback
  • Pages:384 pages
  • Publisher:HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category:
  • ISBN:9780008337124

Other Formats

£14.99

£12.15

Item not Available
 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

  • Format:Hardback
  • Pages:384 pages
  • Publisher:HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category:
  • ISBN:9780008337124

Also by Claire McKenna  |  View all

£16.99

£13.09

£12.99

£11.45

Also in the The Deepwater Trilogy series  |  View all