Clayhanger: The Complete Series, DVD  DVD


All 26 episodes of the 1970s ITV costume drama series based on the novels by Arnold Bennett.

Set in the Staffordshire Potteries in the late 19th century, the series stars Peter McEnery as Edwin Clayhanger, who leaves school dreaming of becoming an architect.

But expectation weighs heavily upon him, and it is anticipated that Edwin will join the family's printing business, built up from scratch by his father Darius (Harry Andrews).

The coming-of-age story follows Edwin as he takes over the running of the family business and falls in love with the beautiful, headstrong Hilda Lessways (Janet Suzman).

Episodes are: 'Last of a Schoolboy', 'The Architect', 'Hilda', 'The 5 Towns Chronicle and the Turnhill Guardian', 'Sin and Romance', 'Escape to Bleakridge', 'Centenary', 'Taking a Share', 'Brighton', 'Marriage', 'Love', 'Punishment', 'Laid Aside', 'Glorious Jubilee', 'The Chain Is Broken', 'The Adventure', 'The Epidemic', 'The Exquisite Burden', 'Possessions', 'A Musical Evening', 'The Orgreave Calamity', 'Dartmoor', 'Prisoners', 'Fall from Glory', 'Death and Dreams' and 'The Discovery'.


  • Format: DVD
  • Region: 2
  • Certification: (12)
  • EAN: 5027626332341
  • Catalogue number: 7953323
  • Studio: Network
  • Release date:
  • Genre: Drama
  • Colour: Colour


Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops