Black Deutschland : A Novel, Paperback / softback Book

Black Deutschland : A Novel Paperback / softback

Description

Newly sober and nostalgic for the Weimar days of Isherwood and Auden, Jed arrives to chase boys and to escape from what it means to be a black male in America.

But history, both personal and political, can't be avoided with time or distance.

Whether it's the judgment of the cousin he grew up with and her husband's bourgeois German family, the lure of white wine in a down-and-out bar, a gang of racists looking for a brawl, or the ravaged visage of Rock Hudson flashing behind the face of every white boy Jed desperately longs for, the past never stays past, even in faraway Berlin.

An intoxicating, provocative novel of appetite, identity, and self-construction, Darryl Pinckney's Black Deutschland tells the story of an outsider searching for an obscure home in Europe's brightest and darkest city.

Named one of the most anticipated books of the year by The Millions, Flavorwire, The Boston Globe, and The Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel; For readers of Teju Cole.

From the author of High Cotton comes the story of a young African American man in divided Berlin: "The novel is full of wondrous things" (James Wood, The New Yorker).

Information

£12.99

£9.95

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops