Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?, Paperback / softback Book

Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

Your Fathers, Where Are They is Dave Eggers's brilliantly executed story of one man struggling to make sense of the world. In a barracks on an abandoned military base, miles from the nearest road, Thomas watches as the man he has brought wakes up.

Kev, a NASA astronaut, doesn't recognize his captor, though Thomas remembers him.

Kev cries for help. He pulls at the chain. But the ocean is close by, and nobody can hear him over the waves and wind.

Thomas apologizes. He didn't want to have to resort to this. But they really needed to have a conversation, and Kev didn't answer his messages. And now, if Kev can just stop yelling, Thomas has a few questions. 'With each tightly controlled book, Eggers's fiction becomes more prescient, moving and unsettling . . . Even if all generations are lost generations, we need engaged, incendiary novels which ask: What now?' Independent 'An angry and astute investigation into the state of America . . . Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola' Mark Lawson, Guardian 'One of our fiercest and most compelling writers' Sunday Times

Information

Other Formats

£15.99

£11.35

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Dave Eggers  |  View all

£9.99

£9.39

£12.99

£11.05

£8.99

£8.45