David Lewin's Morgengruss : Text, Context, Commentary, Hardback Book

David Lewin's Morgengruss : Text, Context, Commentary Hardback

Edited by David Bard-Schwarz, Richard Cohn


Arguably one of the most influential and revered figures in contemporary music theory, David Lewin (1933-2003) revolutionized the field through his work on transformational theory and theoretical methodology.

David Lewin's Morgengruss: Text, Context, Commentary presents in print for the first time Lewin's legendary 1974 essay on Franz Schubert's "Morgengruss," from the composer's song cycle, Die Schoene Mullerin.

The essay wascentral to Lewin's graduate teaching, and copies of it have circulated by hand through the music-scholarly community for decades.

This book presents the original text of Lewin's essay along with over 200 graphical illustrations.

Lewin's ability to present an artful and rich argument, based on a close reading of a short, "simple" score is butone of the wonders to behold in his masterful essay.

At once deeply nuanced and widely accessible, Lewin's "Morgengruss" offers insight into Schubert's composition as well as the analytical process itself. Along with the full text of Lewin's essay, this book includes a small but pointed collection of essays interpreting the content and significance of Lewin's "Morgengruss." Drawing on current research as well as personal reflection, editors Richard Cohn and David Bard-Schwarz, along with contributors Brian Kane and Henry Klumpenhouwer, elaborate on the analytical, pedagogical, and philosophical contexts of Lewin's work.

Taken together, the editors and contributors offer a compelling accountof the enduring significance of Lewin's writing.

David Lewin's Morgengruss is a must-have for anyone with an interest in Lewin's career, Schubert's music, or music theory generally.


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 224 pages, 262 music examples and 4 tables
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press Inc
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Theory of music & musicology
  • ISBN: 9780199844784



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops