logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

Pretty Girl Gone, Paperback / softback Book

Pretty Girl Gone Paperback / softback

Part of the A McKenzie Novel series

Description

McKenzie has a lot of old girlfriends. But only one went on to marry the current governor of the state of Minnesota. And only one is calling him with a desperate request to meet in secret. The First Lady is carrying an email that contains a nasty rumor about her husband, and the truth is buried decades deep in a small town's history.

Of course McKenzie always has plenty of time on his hands and is in the business of handling such matters for his friends. So he heads straight into the governor's past, planning to poke around and see if he can stir up a little information. Before long, someone starts poking him back, and it's clear that he has stirred up nothing but trouble. McKenzie is soon shifting through a complex web of interlocking secrets and lies, some decades-old, and some rooted violently in the present day.

Praise for PRETTY GIRL GONE:

“Housewright’s unapologetically flawed hero charms, while the clean plot lines, palpable Minnesota winter and understated humor make this a good, satisfying read.” —Publishers Weekly

“This is the third McKenzie mystery, and it’s turning into quite an interesting series: solid premise, tight plotting, and this time more depth in character development, as Housewright explores McKenzie’s emotional side.” —Booklist

Pretty Girl Gone is an incredible addition to ‘Cold Case’ mysteries, joining the likes of recent books by Michael Connelly, KJ Erickson, Mary Logue, and Reed Farrell Coleman. Housewright artfully portrays the hopelessness of a group of men who’s defining moment happened when they were teenager’s; of pitiful lives spent chasing a memory soured by tragedy and deceit... McKenzie is an entertaining and engaging character, and in this, the 3rd novel in the series (following A Hard Ticket Home and Tin City), appears all too human... Pretty Girl Gone is a complex, thoroughly enjoyable addition to what is becoming one of our favorite mystery series.” —CrimeSpree Magazine

“(Housewright is one) of Minnesota’s most dependable practitioners of the craft... McKenzie is good company...with a wry sense of humor, often aimed at himself, and a quick, accurate take on people and places. While certainly not an errant knight in the tradition of Raymond Chandler and Robert B. Parker, he’s a good man who’s wise enough to know that he will disappoint himself.” —Minneapolis Star Tribune

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 294 pages
  • Publisher: Down & Out Books
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9781643960197

£12.95

£11.65

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by David Housewright   |  View all

Also in the A McKenzie Novel series   |  View all