Oliver Twist and the Mystery of Throate Manor, Paperback Book

Oliver Twist and the Mystery of Throate Manor Paperback

Description

A thrilling 'Dickensian Whodunit' in which Oliver Twist, now a young man and a lawyer, assisted by his clerk Jack Dawkins (the Artful Dodger) tries to solve a series of brutal murders. Oliver Twist is a young man in his late twenties and employed as a solicitor.

He has taken his old associate Jack Dawkins, aka the Artful Dodger, on as his clerk in attempt to civilise him and keep him out of trouble.

Together they become embroiled in a dark and dangerous murder mystery. Throate Manor is the ancestral home of the Throate Family in Surrey.

The latest incumbent of the line, the aged Sir Ebenezer, trapped in a loveless marriage to Lady Amelia, is being terrified by a night visitor, a sheeted apparition who appears in his bedroom, and warns him to remember his son.

This does not refer to his legitimate offspring Jeremiah Throate, a reckless gambler and libertine, who is deeply in debt to Eugene Trench, a sinister figure in the Victorian underworld.

The son to whom the apparition refers is an illegitimate child Sir Ebenezer fathered with a maidservant some twenty five years previously.

Fear mixed with guilt prompts Sir Ebenezer to try and locate the son he has never known.

He plans to alter his will to favour him. He contacts his solicitors, the firm of Gripewind and Biddle, for this purpose and they despatch Oliver Twist and Jack Dawkins to Throate Manor to attend to this business.

Sir Ebenezer charges Oliver with the task of finding his lost son. The task is a perilous one leading to violence and murder before shocking revelations threaten to destroy them all. Bestselling crime author David Stuart Davies delivers a unique Victorian set mystery, reimagining some of Charles Dickens best loved characters in new and thrilling roles.

Ideal for fans of Kim Newman, Mark Frost and the author's acclaimed Luther Darke series.

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Urbane Publications
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Classic crime
  • ISBN: 9781911583547

£8.99

£7.49

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops