A Darker State : The gripping cold war thriller perfect for fans of Robert Harris, Paperback / softback Book

A Darker State : The gripping cold war thriller perfect for fans of Robert Harris Paperback / softback

Description

FOR THE STASI, IT'S NOT JUST THE TRUTH THAT GETS BURIED . . . A gripping thriller set in 1970s East Germany, perfect for fans of Child 44, Phillip Kerr and Martin Cruz Smith. The body of a teenage boy is found weighted down in a lake.

Karin Muller, newly appointed Major of the People's Police, is called to investigate.

But her power will only stretch so far, when every move she makes is under the watchful eye of the Stasi. Then, when the son of Muller's team member goes missing, it quickly becomes clear that there is a terrifying conspiracy at the heart of this case, one that could fast lead Muller and her young family into real danger. Can she navigate this complex political web and find the missing boy, before it's too late?Praise for CWA Award-winning David Young'Young is excellent at describing terrible injustice, mass and personal, by way of a strong plot and a sympathetic woman' The Times'A Darker State is gripping, thrilling and very, very good' William Ryan'Masterful. . . an intricate, absorbing page-turner' Daily Express'This fast-paced thriller hooks the readers from the start' The Sun'Superb.

A thrilling Cold War mystery that reminded me of Robert Harris at his best' Mason Cross'Up there with Martin Cruz Smith and the other greats of the field' Abir Mukherjee'Masterful . . . a cracking debut' David Jackson

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical mysteries
  • ISBN: 9781785760709

£7.99

£6.95

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by David Young   |  View all