Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

A King's Commander, Paperback / softback Book

A King's Commander Paperback / softback

Part of the The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures series

Paperback / softback

Description

Epic sea battles abound in this historical naval adventure.Alan Lewrie is now commander of his own ship, HMS Jester, which participates in the spectacular British victory over the French at the famous battle known as The Glorious First of June. From there Lewrie is dispatched to the Mediterranean to inform Admiral Hood of the French defeat.

Under Hood's inspired leadership, Lewrie assists in the conquest of Corsica, but Hood is soon replaced by the maddeningly cautious Admiral Hotham. Only alongside one Horatio Nelson does Lewrie again find his chance to be of service in a series of fierce battles along the French coast. And it is along that same coast that he hears once again of an old enemy, the French commander Guillaume Choundas. Seventh in The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures, The King's Commander is perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Julian Stockwin and C.S.

Forester. Praise for Dewey Lambdin'You could get addicted to this series.

Easily' New York Times Book Review'The best naval series since C.

S. Forester' Library Journal'Fast-moving... A hugely likeable hero, a huge cast of sharply drawn supporting characters: there's nothing missing.

Wonderful stuff' Kirkus Reviews

Information

Other Formats

£9.99

£8.05

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by DEWEY LAMBDIN  |  View all

Also in the The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures series  |  View all