Liszt's Final Decade, Hardback Book

Liszt's Final Decade Hardback

Part of the Eastman Studies in Music series


Toward the end of his life Franz Liszt maintained extensive correspondence with two women who were at the time his closest confidantes, Carolyne von Sayn-Wittgenstein and Olga von Meyendorff.

Liszt wrote to them regularly, expressing his intimate feelings about personal and career events and his conflicted self-image as a celebrated performer but underappreciated composer.

Absent a diary, the letters offer the most direct avenue into Liszt's psyche in his final years. Liszt's Final Decade explores through these letters the mind and music of one of the nineteenth century's most popular musicians, providing insight into Liszt's melancholia in his last years and his struggle to gain recognition for his music yet avoid criticism.

The exchange indicates that Liszt ultimately resolved his inner conflict through a personally constructed Christian moral philosophy that embraced positive resignation to suffering, compassionate love, and trust in a just reward to come.

The book also examines how Liszt's late sacred compositions affirm the yielding of suffering to joy and hope.

Significantly, Liszt viewed these works, commonly overlooked today, as a major part of his compositional legacy.

This volume thus challenges the idea of a single "late" Lisztian style and the notion that despair overwhelmed the composer in his final years. We are pleased to announce that Liszt's Final Decade is the winner of the 2017 Alan Walker Book Award, given by the American Liszt Society. Dolores Pesce is the Avis Blewett Professor of Music in Arts and Sciences at Washington University in St.



  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 384 pages, 15 Line drawings, black and white; 24 Illustrations, black and white
  • Publisher: Boydell & Brewer Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Romantic music (c 1830 to c 1900)
  • ISBN: 9781580464840

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Dolores Pesce

Also in the Eastman Studies in Music series   |  View all