George Frideric Handel : 1734-1742 Volume 3, Hardback Book

George Frideric Handel : 1734-1742 Volume 3 Hardback

Edited by Donald Burrows, Helen Coffey, John Greenacombe, Anthony Hicks


The life and career of George Frideric Handel, one of the most frequently performed composers from the Baroque period, are copiously and intricately documented through a huge variety of contemporary sources.

This multi-volume major publication is the most up-to-date and comprehensive collection of these documents.

Presented chronologically in their original languages with English translations and with commentaries incorporating the results of recent research, the documents provide an essential and accessible resource for anyone interested in Handel and his music.

This volume begins with Handel's move to the Covent Garden theatre, during the period of his competition with the Opera of the Nobility, and ends with his season of oratorio performances in Dublin.

These years saw the composition of Italian operas including Ariodante, Alcina and Serse but also of the major English works Alexander's Feast, Saul and Messiah.


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 944 pages, 3 Printed music items; 12 Halftones, unspecified
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Baroque music (c 1600 to c 1750)
  • ISBN: 9781107019553



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops