Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Shuggie Bain : Winner of the Booker Prize 2020, Paperback / softback Book

Shuggie Bain : Winner of the Booker Prize 2020 Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

Winner of the Booker Prize 2020Winner of 'Book of the Year' at the British Book Awards 2021Winner of 'Debut of the Year' at the British Book Awards 2021'A heartbreaking novel' The Times'An amazingly intimate, compassionate, gripping portrait of addiction, courage and love.' The judges of the Booker Prize'Tender and unsentimental . . . The Billy Elliot-ish character of Shuggie . . . leaps off the page.' Daily Mail'Douglas Stuart has written a first novel of rare and lasting beauty.' Observer It is 1981.

Glasgow is dying and good families must grift to survive.

Agnes Bain has always expected more from life, dreaming of greater things.

But Agnes is abandoned by her philandering husband, and as she descends deeper into drink, the children try their best to save her, yet one by one they must abandon her to save themselves.

It is her son Shuggie who holds out hope the longest.

Shuggie is different, he is clearly no' right. But Shuggie believes that if he tries his hardest, he can be normal like the other boys and help his mother escape this hopeless place. Shuggie Bain lays bare the ruthlessness of poverty, the limits of love, and the hollowness of pride.

For readers of Hanya Yanagihara, Emma Donoghue, Alan Hollinghurst and Frank McCourt, it is a heartbreaking novel by a brilliant writer with a powerful and important story to tell.

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Douglas Stuart  |  View all