Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Queen's Gambit, Paperback / softback Book

Queen's Gambit Paperback / softback

Part of the The Tudor Trilogy series

Paperback / softback

Description

Meet the woman who survived Henry VIII in Elizabeth Fremantle's first novel, Queen's Gambit...

My name is Katherine Parr. I'm 31 years old and already twice widowed. I'm in love with a man I can't have, and am about to wed a man no-one would want - for my husband-to-be is none other than Henry VIII, who has already beheaded two wives, cast aside two more, and watched one die in childbirth. What will become of me once I'm wearing his ring and become Queen of England?They say that the sharpest blades are sheathed in the softest pouches. Only time will tell what I am really made of... For fans of Hilary Mantel, Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, Elizabeth Fremantle's first novel, Queen's Gambit, is a riveting account of the Tudor queen who married four men and outlived three of them - including Henry VIII.

Rich in atmosphere and period detail, and told through the eyes of Katherine and her young maid Dot, it tells the story of two very different women during a terrifying and turbulent time.

If you loved Wolf Hall, The Other Boleyn Girl or the BBC drama series The Tudors, then Elizabeth Fremantle's Queen's Gambit is the book for you. 'Gripping' Woman & Home'Sumptuous' Metro'A major new voice in historical fiction'The Bookseller'Rich and enticing' Stylist'Electric' Good Housekeeping'Wildly entertaining' Huffington PostElizabeth Fremantle holds a first in English and an MA in creative Writing from Birkbeck.

As a Fashion Editor she has contributed to various publications including Vogue, Elle, Vanity Fair and the Erotic Review and has had her fiction published in the Mechanic's Institute Review.

Queen's Gambit is her first novel; her second, Sisters of Treason, will be published early in 2014.

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also in the The Tudor Trilogy series   |  View all