Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Supporting your high street Find out how »
The Celestial Omnibus And Other Stories, Paperback / softback Book

The Celestial Omnibus And Other Stories Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback


The Celestial Omnibus and Other Stories is the title of a collection of short stories by English writer E.

M. Forster, first published in 1911. A traveler steps off the road and finds himself in an alternate reality.

A sullen boy accidentally summons a spirit. A man gets more than he bargained for when he buys his fiancee a plot of wooded land.

These six stories deal with transformations, the truth of the imagination, and the effect of the unseen on ordinary lives.

By juxtaposing the Edwardian English with pagan mythology, E.M.

Forster created in this collection a work of lasting strangeness and great beauty.

The Omnibus Contains, "The Story Of A Panic", "The Other Side of The Hedge", "The Celestial Omnibus", "Other Kingdon", "The Curate's Friend" and "The Road From Colonus".



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by E M Forster   |  View all