Beloved Poison : A page-turning thriller full of dark secrets, Paperback / softback Book

Beloved Poison : A page-turning thriller full of dark secrets Paperback / softback

Part of the Jem Flockhart series

Description

'It's rare that a book is Gothic enough for me, but Beloved Poison is killing it.

The blood, the bones...' LAURA PURCELLA dark and richly atmospheric thriller, perfect for fans of Laura Purcell's The Silent Companions, Sarah Perry's Melmoth and Imogen Hermes Gowar's The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock. London, 1846. Ramshackle and crumbling, St Saviour's Infirmary awaits demolition.

Within its stinking wards and cramped corridors the doctors bicker and fight. Ambition, jealousy and hatred seethe beneath the veneer of professional courtesy. Always an outsider, and with a secret of her own to hide, apothecary Jem Flockhart observes everything, but says nothing. And then six tiny coffins are uncovered, inside each a handful of dried flowers and a bundle of mouldering rags.

When Jem comes across these strange relics hidden inside the infirmary's old chapel, her quest to understand their meaning prises open a long-forgotten past - with fatal consequences . . . Praise for E.S. Thomson:'Vivid, pungent and perilous' CHRIS BROOKMYRE'Evocative...brilliant plotting' REBECCA GRIFFITHS'Complex, harrowing and highly enjoyable' DAILY EXPRESS'Marvellous, vivid . . . breathtakingly dark' JANET ELLIS'Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years' KIRSTY LOGAN'A marvel . . . thoroughly engrossing' MARY PAULSON ELLIS

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9781472122292

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.89

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by E. S. Thomson   |  View all

£8.99

£7.89

£8.99

£7.89

£12.99

£10.69

£19.99

£15.85

Also in the Jem Flockhart series   |  View all