Early Murnau - The Masters of Cinema Series, Blu-ray BluRay

Early Murnau - The Masters of Cinema Series Blu-ray

Directed by F.W. Murnau


Collection of five silent films from German director F.W.

Murnau. 'Schloss Vogelöd' (1921) takes place during an aristocratic weekend party at Vogelöd Castle where Count Johann Oestsch (Lothar Mehnert), long suspected of murdering his brother Peter (Paul Hartmann), turns up uninvited.

In a desperate attempt to prove his innocence and clear his name, the Count begins an ethically questionable campaign to find the true killer.

In 'Phantom' (1922) government clerk Lorenz Lubota (Alfred Abel)'s quiet, ordered life spins violently out of control when he becomes infatuated with a mysterious and beautiful woman who runs him over with her chariot. 'Der Letzte Mann' (1924) tells the tale of the humiliation, rejection and ultimate triumph of an elderly hotel doorman (Emil Jannings) whose world crumbles when he is demoted to washroom attendant.

He gets the last laugh, however, when he inherits the fortune of a wealthy American who left his bundle to the last man who saw him alive. 'Die Finanzen Des Grossherzogs' (1924) follows the Grand Duke of Abacco (Harry Liedtke) as he embarks on some novel fundraising exercises after his rakish lifestyle finally dries up his noble coffers. 'Tartuffe' (1925), set in the 1920s, tells the story of a devious housekeeper who convinces her master to cut his worthy grandson out of his will and leave the riches to her instead.

The grandson responds by disguising himself as the projectionist of a travelling cinema show, and flatters his way into his grandfather's home, where he shows his film of 'Tartuffe' in an attempt to open his grandfather's eyes to his housekeeper's manipulations.

The film depicts a man named Orgon (Werner Krauss) who falls under the spell of an evil fraudster named Tartuffe (Jannings). Orgon's family, however, are not deceived and do their utmost to rid their house of Tartuffe and his lies.


  • Format: Blu-ray
  • Region: B
  • Certification: (PG)
  • EAN: 5060000702224
  • Catalogue number: EKA70222
  • Studio: Eureka
  • Release date:
  • Genre: Drama
  • Colour: B/W


Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops