Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Doctor of the High Fells, Paperback / softback Book

Doctor of the High Fells Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy, comes a gritty saga perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries. Prue's heart beat hard - she had heard of the low seams of the mines of northwest Durham and she had always had a fear of being enclosed.

This was her job, she told herself, this was what she had wanted.

She must do it. So she picked up her bag and followed them to the cage which carried the miners below ground, praying that the man did not die, that she need not produce some miracle . . . Determined to practise as a doctor, Prue escapes a loveless marriage to journey far from home and join a surgery in Tow Law.

But she soon finds that long hours and limited resources are only the beginning - gaining the townspeople's trust will be her greatest challenge of all.

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the story of Prue Stanhope, young woman doctor to the miners of Tow Law, County Durham.

Information

Other Formats

£9.99

£9.19

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Elizabeth Gill  |  View all